• Do not register here on develop.twiki.org, login with your twiki.org account.
• Use View topic Item7848 for generic doc work for TWiki-6.1.1. Use View topic Item7851 for doc work on extensions that are not part of a release. More... Close
• Anything you create or change in standard webs (Main, TWiki, Sandbox etc) will be automatically reverted on every SVN update.
Does this site look broken?. Use the LitterTray web for test cases.

Attached current dialogue. To me a tad confusing.

Current way of doing it today seems to be something like:


You have unsaved changes. Do you want to save your changes?

[Save] [Don't Save] [Cancel]


("Cancel" just cancels the dialogue and remains in open editor).

-- SP

Sorry - you will find this situation in many web applications. The only sort of dialog box available to the javascript author is an "OK/Cancel" box. I tried to explain what is going to happen as clearly as possible; because there is no choice, that's the only dialog available.

Regraded as enhancement and deferred, because without a whole heap of additional programming there is nothing I can do about it.

CC

Christ.

Wasn't aware of this, sorry. My personal preference in a two-button scenario would be as follows:


You have unsaved changes.

Do you want to save your changes before leaving?

Pressing OK will save your changes, Cancel will discard your changes (forever!).


That would make the button on the left the "safest bet", in compliance with what I see most (ok, at least Windows / Linux KDE) applications tend to do these days. And as a user I would have to do something extra to "really discard", just pressing enter would save the thing.

But I can live with current state of things, no worries!

Perhaps there's a third opinion on this?

-- SP

I Agree with SP. On most windows apps (Wordpad, Word, ...) default (left) choice means save.

Something like: OK will SAVE your changes. Cancel will DISCARD your changes and exit (no undo!)

-- CN

I too am with SP on this.

Incidently, Google mail's "discard mail" is kinda neat: it is undoable. They must have somewhere to dump the last discarded document, additionally gmail saves drafts in the background so if the web browser closes unexpectedly the draft email is saved.

MC

OK, SVN 8531

CC

ItemTemplate
Summary WYSIWYG cancel dialogue is non-standard (usability)
ReportedBy SteffenPoulsen
Codebase

SVN Range Thu, 12 Jan 2006 build 8253
AppliesTo Extension
Component WysiwygPlugin
Priority Normal
CurrentState Closed
WaitingFor

Checkins 8531
Topic attachments
I Attachment History Action Size Date Who Comment
PNGpng kupu-cancel.png r1 manage 9.2 K 2006-01-12 - 21:54 SteffenPoulsen kupu cancel dialogue
Unknown file formatpng_ kupu-cancel.png_ r1 manage 9.2 K 2006-01-12 - 21:53 SteffenPoulsen kupu cancel dialogue
Edit | Attach | Watch | Print version | History: r9 < r8 < r7 < r6 < r5 | Backlinks | Raw View | Raw edit | More topic actions
Topic revision: r9 - 2006-01-26 - CrawfordCurrie
 
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by PerlCopyright © 2008-2018 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback