When you delete an attachment you get the same options as when you delete the topic.
You have topic called AttachmentFails
in a Web called Myweb.
You have a file called filename.txt that you delete.
You click manage
And on the next screen (attach) you click delete
It now gives you a notice with the note
"Checked topics will be updated to point to the new topic location. Not recommended when deleting an attachment."
And then it lists all the topic that contains a link to AttachmentFails
. Users are very confused by this. Why does the rename screen show this list of topics when you delete an attachment. It looks like someone took a shortcut here and added the note knowing that it did not work well.'
I do not think the note is sufficient. The list of topics should not be shown in the first place. It must be possible to show the list conditionally based on if you move/delete attachments vs topics.
I tried to checkmark "WebHome" topic from the list to see if the AttachmentFails
link is altered but it is not. It is just very confusing even for me who is experienced TWiki user. Should be fixed in 4.0.3
Update to clarify the issue.
The BUG is the list of topics you see when you delete an attachment.
The list if a list of topics that contains a link to the topic from which the attachment is deleted. It is not a list of topics that contains a link to the attachment. So the whole thing makes no sense.
It seems it is the search and dialog related to moving topics that is reused here and that is wrong.
Dunno why someone else didn't fix this. it was trivial.