When two people are editing the same topic, revrep should be disabled. Witness the following scenario:
- User A creates a topic, saves it and edits it again
- User B spots a spelling mistake and edits the topic. He gets the topic edit warning and clicks on "edit anyway", because he can.
- User A does a quick save and continues editing. This causes a revrep, the original revision that user B was working from is now no longer available.
- User B saves his version.
Since the original revision is no longer available, TWiki::UI::Save is forced to do a merge2() instead of merge3(), which totally messes up the topic since it's using the wrong diffing concept. DEL and INS tags are all over the topic, making no sense since there was no-one doing the DELs and INSs.
Therefore I request that TWiki does not do revrep save()s when more than one person is editing a topic.
A very good point. i thought it checked, but I see now it doesn't. Confirmed.
I think this was fixed in another item - at least it is no longer reproducible.
- 22 Dec 2007